Steps To Recall Email in Gmail

You may have mistakenly sent a wrong email to someone else which you regret. It may be a very vital information or a private message you wanted to send to your wife which you mistakenly send to your mom. It may be a highly classified information you want to send to a senior executive in your company but mistakenly sent it to a junior staff.

Most people have found themselves in situations like this and didn’t know what to do about it. You may have forgotten to attach that important file you wanted to send but you forgot and sent an empty email. These are different situations and scenario where people send emails wrongly.

Due to a situation like these, Gmail has developed a way where you have some few minutes or few seconds to recall a wrong email that you sent. It may be for about 30 seconds to 1 minute for you to make a decision to recall that email if you sent it to the wrong person or you sent a wrong email.

Recalling an email by using the “Undo Send” feature.

Gmail has a feature known as the “Undo Send” feature. The Undo send has to be configured inside your Gmail inbox. This is to delay delivery of an email by a few seconds or minute.

Immediately after an email message is been sent, the “Undo” text pop up at the top of the screen. Should in case you sent a wrong email and you want to stop it from being delivered, you need click on the “Undo” text as fast as possible within some seconds then the email will be recalled.
How to Configure and Enable the “Undo Send” Feature.

These are the steps you should follow if you want to configure and enable an “Undo Send” feature in your Gmail inbox;

Step 1: Log into your Gmail and click the gear icon in the top-right corner of your Gmail screen.

Step 2: Click “Settings.”

Step 3: Select the “General” tab, and click “Undo Send.”

Step 4: Check the “Enable Undo Send” button.

Step 5: Using the drop-down menu, select how long you will want your cancellation period for. Since 30 seconds is the longest time, select 30 seconds.

Step 6: Scroll down and click “Save Changes.”

 

You should take note of the time after sending your email if you want to recall. The longest time is 30 seconds so you have to be fast in making your decision if you want to recall the email or not before your 30 seconds elapses. After the expiration of 30 seconds, an email can’t be recalled anymore.

Add Comment